Label: basic_sounds
Catalog#: bsc_025
Genre, Style: Dub Techno
Release Date: 03 Sep 2012


Primarily known for his dub techno productions as one half of Overcast Sound, Michael Pettit’s solo alias, Chord combines his deep dub sensibilities with sophisticated explorations into minimal house and techno.

On his exceptional release Year as a Ghost, Chord delivers perfected spatially fractured piano-driven tech-house tracks. The first composition, “Now I Know and I Wish I Never Did” slowly builds into a brooding experimental house track incorporating organic rhythmic percussion sounds, sultry male vocals, piano melodies and flowing strings. “High Catherine” is a gorgeous dubby slow-groove driven by layered drums and gliding atmospheric drifts that gradually evolve under creatively timed vocal snippets. “Lost in the Market” acts as an acoustic interlude by submerging the listener into a virtual space of wonder driven by contemplative atmospheric waves. “The Unsettled” is a beautifully executed track with patiently layered rhythmic percussion beats and warm optimistic rising strings, highlighted with strong piano chords.

Chord cleverly allows the organic beauty of each component to breathe while uniquely constructing them into an infectious, minimal groove that’s sheer genius. basic_sounds netlabel is delighted to celebrate our third anniversary with such a polished and stunning personal offering.


01. Now I Know and I Wish I Never Did
02. Strange The Walls
03. High Catherine
04. Lost In The Market
05. The Unsettled
06. Should Talk
07. Take You

СКАЧАТЬ БЕСПЛАТНО MP3, 320 kbps / Lossless / [info]