Label: We Are All Ghosts
Catalog#: waag_rel095
Genre, Style: Ambient
Release Date: Jan 08, 2017
Country: UK

Info: Oblique, the latest release by Matthew VandenBrook on weareallghosts, is a fully immersive and adventurous journey … from the opening atmospherics of “An evolution of the path” to the closing piano of “The Transcience of Beautiful Things” … the listener is bathed in exotic, otherworldly ambience that enthrals and engages.

VandenBrook’s use of sound is remarkable … I have always thought this but he really has confirmed it on Oblique … the quirky notes and electronic patterns that create engaging atmospheres, the drones that bathe the listener in light, the sounds that entertain; Oblique truly is a delight.

I really hope there is more Matthew VandenBrook in waag’s future. I love his music and have throughly enjoyed what he has released through this little netlabel.

Thanks to the support of Cousin Silas and Warren Daly … and the wonderful waag community … I’m proud to be able to offer a 320kbps version of this release for free over on Archive with a lossless version available on Bandcamp for ‘pay what you want’.

I really hope you will enjoy Oblique as much as I do. – Thomas


1. An Evolution of the Path – 04:15
2. Panacea – 11:20
3. Intersect – 06:01
4. Euphoria – 04:45
5. Pandora – 06:30
6. The Decline of Beautiful Things – 07:00
7. The Transcience of Beautiful Things – 04:40